Shikhar ‘Gabbar’ Dhawan was cut from the ODI squad ahead of the 2023 World Cup for India vs. Sri Lanka.

India has chosen to leave Shikhar Dhawan out of the ODI team for their match against Sri Lanka. Dhawan, one of India’s top players in ODIs today, may have played his final match for the national squad.

Shikhar Dhawan’s career may be coming to an end after almost ten years since he ignited the Champions Trophy 2013 with his stunning Test debut and was left out of India’s ODI selection for the Sri Lanka series.

shikhar dhawan
shikhar dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan was not selected to start for India in the first ODI series of 2023. Dhawan, who was once India’s go-to player in the ODI format of the game, was left off the team that the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee announced. Dhawan recently took part in the ODI series against Bangladesh, although he struggled in India’s 2-1 defeat to the Tigers. Following Dhoni’s team’s defeat in 2015, this was India’s only second ODI series defeat in the neighbouring nation.

The team management’s haphazard selection process, which cost them the Asia Cup and the T20 World Cup last year, is evident in Dhawan’s exclusion as yet another great example. Dhawan, one of the favourites to play for India in the upcoming World Cup, was about to be fired at a time when playing for numerous teams has handed India caps to nearly every peripheral player. But the decision defies reason and logic given that the man finished the year as India’s second-highest run scorer in ODIs, behind only Shreyas Iyer, with 688 runs from 22 ODIs. KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli are not even close. And Suryakumar Yadav doesn’t either.

Dhawan, who served as captain for multiple ODI series in the absence of senior players, has 6793 runs from 167 ODI games at an average of 44.11. To date, he has 17 centuries and 39 half centuries. Dhawan, who is well-known for coming up big in ICC competitions, is one of India’s most productive openers in an ODI World Cup with 537 runs in 10 games.

Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, and Arshdeep Singh are among the players.

Leave a Comment